Universiti Malaya | UM (Malaysia)

Universiti Malaya (UM) is the first university to have been established in Malaya (now known as Malaysia) and was officiated as a public university in the Federation of Malaya on the 1st January 1962. It is supported by two academies, thirteen faculties, three institutes and three academic centres that comprehensively encompass medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities. Proving its position as an internationally renowned institution of higher learning in research, innovation, publication and teaching, UM is ranked 59th on the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings 2021 whereas for the QS Asia University Rankings 2020, UM is ranked on the 13th position.

As one of the faculties in UM, the Faculty of Law prides itself in providing a liberal and comprehensive study of law as a scholarly discipline. It trains and equips students with professional skills and ethics of the legal profession, combined with a critical outlook of the law as an element for social organization, social change and justice. Degrees offered by the Faculty include the Bachelor of Laws and the Bachelor of Jurisprudence degrees. At the postgraduate level, besides the Master of Laws and the Doctor of Philosophy degrees, the Faculty also offers the Master of Criminal Justice and Master of Commercial Law degrees.